Eastern Bay of Plenty schools are forming learning communities for kids

Whakatane news
Wednesday, April 22, 2015

East Coast MP Anne Tolley has welcomed the news that over 3,000 local students from Whakatane schools will become part of a Community of Schools, aimed at raising educational achievement among students.

Whakatane High School, Apanui School, James Street School, Ohope Beach School, St Joseph’s Catholic School (Whakatane), Taneatua School, Whakatane Intermediate and Annadale School will form the Whakatane Community of Schools, with 3,187 students between them.

St Joseph’s Catholic School in Opotiki will also be a part of the Rotorua Catholic Faith Based Community of Schools, made up of nine schools.

“I’m proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our kids.”

These schools add to the 11 Communities of Schools already announced as part of the Government’s $359 million investing in Educational Success initiative. The initiative aims to lift achievement in Kiwi schools by helping schools share teaching and leadership expertise.

“Evidence shows us quality of education and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so we are supporting those areas.

“We want to see greater collaboration among schools, improved transition through the education system for children, and better career pathways for early childhood and primary teachers.

“National is focussed on improving education and achievement in our schools so all kids have the very best shot at succeeding and going on to lead successful lives,” Mrs Tolley said.

Almost 60 per cent of the schools in this tranche are decile 1 – 5 schools. A third tranche of Communities of Schools is expected to be announced later this year.