Tolley praises local schools for working together for kids

Gisborne news
Thursday, November 19, 2015

East Coast MP Anne Tolley has welcomed the news that 28 schools in the East Coast electorate are part of four new Communities of Schools aimed at raising educational achievement among local students.

There are now four schools forming the Gisborne Community of Schools, eight schools that are part of the Taha Hinengaro Community of Schools, eight schools that are part of Taha Whanau Community of Schools and 12 schools that are part of the Taha Tinana Community of Schools.

“East Coast children within these new school communities will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in our local classrooms,” Mrs Tolley said.

“I’m proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our kids.”

“Across the country, 793 schools have now committed to working together to raise student achievement – this will impact on nearly 250,000 Kiwi kids.

“This is about a third of New Zealand students who will now benefit from their schools sharing expertise and resources,” Mrs Tolley said.

These school communities are funded through the Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative.  Evidence shows quality of education and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.

“The communities will work together on challenges they identify for their children, such as maths, or science, or reading.

“National is focusing on improving performance in the schooling system to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed,” Mrs Tolley said.